The DHST/DLMPST Joint Commission Annual Report of Activities, 2020

(prepared by Hasok Chang, 16 December 2020)

The current and future structure of the Joint Commission

The Commission's Chair has been Hasok Chang since 2016, re-appointed twice to continue till 2021. Other members of the governing committee appointed by the Divisions are currently Mike Osborne (DHST), Catherine Jami (DHST), Nancy Cartwright (DLMPST), and Benedikt Loewe (DLMPST).

Hasok Chang will serve for one further year as the Chair of the Joint Commission, but after that a new Chair will need to be found. The President and Secretary-General of each Division will remain *ex officio* members of the governing committee. In February 2020, on a plan agreed before, we added the following additional members to the governing committee of the Joint Commission: Rachel Ankeny (University of Adelaide, Australia), Theodore Arabatzis (University of Athens, Greece), Agnes Bolinska (University of South Carolina, USA), Takehiko Hashimoto (University of Tokyo, Japan), Helen Longino (Stanford University, USA), Pablo Lorenzano (Universidad Nacional de Quilmes, Argentina), Joe Martin (Durham University, UK), and Dirk Schlimm (McGill University, Canada).

We do not have regular business meetings, but we are in communication by e-mail as needed.

Activities in 2020

The main activity of the Joint Commission has traditionally been to organize symposia at the ICHST and CLMPST. Therefore there has been no notable activity in 2020.

Announcement has been made for the third round of the IUHPST Essay Prize, and the judging panel has been constituted, with the following members: Joe Martin, Benedikt Loewe, Rachel Ankeny, Agnes Bolinska, Helen Longino, Dirk Schlimm, and Hasok Chang. The due date for entries is 15 January 2021. The full announcement has been posted here: http://dhstweb.org/awards/iuhpst-essay-prize